Magistri et ScholaresAcademic News
and Resources
Recent Submit About Policy Site Map
Most Recent
Submit Item
Submission Policy


Scholarly Publications
Main Index


Geographic Database
Main Index


Site Map
About This Site
Call for Papers - Medieval and Early Modern Studies Conference

Type: Call for Papers
Date: --
Call for Papers and Panels

The Australian and New Zealand Association


Medieval and Early Modern Studies, Inc.

Eighth Biennial International


2-5 February 2011

University of Otago


New Zealand

Keynote speakers:

Professor Alastair Minnis (Yale Unviersity)

Professor Michael Hunter (Birkbeck College)

Professor Frances E. Dolan (University of California at Davis)

Professor Dauvit Broun (Glasgow University)

We wish to invite proposals for papers and panels for ANZAMEMS 2011.

We would like to encourage papers and panels in the broadly-defined academic disciplines of medieval and early modern studies, including but not limited to history, literary studies, music, art history, theology and religious studies, cultural studies, philosophy, science, medicine, maritime studies, performance studies, gender studies. We particularly welcome and encourage papers from graduate students and early career researchers.

Proposals for full panels are very welcome. These should include three proposed speakers, and, if possible, a chair and/or a respondent. Individual papers will be grouped with two others. Parallel sessions will last an hour and a half, which means that papers should be no longer than 20 minutes each to leave sufficient time for discussion.

The final deadline for proposals is 3 September 2010, but early submissions are encouraged. Proposals should contain a title, an abstract of your paper (200 words), and your name, contact details, and institutional affiliation.

Participants who need to make travel arrangements are welcome to submit their proposals early and the convenors will assess their abstracts promptly.

Proposals should be sent to:

Further information may be sought from the convenors:

Dr Simone Celine Marshall

Dr Judith Collard

Professor Peter Anstey

or from our website: