Magistri et ScholaresAcademic News
and Resources
Recent • Submit • About • Policy • Site Map
Most Recent
Submit Item
Submission Policy


Scholarly Publications
Main Index


Geographic Database
Main Index


Site Map
About This Site
The Society for History in the Federal ...

Each year the Society awards six prizes for various types of historical publication and work furthering the understanding and history of the federal government: the Henry Adams and George Pendleton Prizes (Books), the James Madison and Charles Thomson Prizes (Articles or Essays), the Thomas Jefferson Prize (Documentary Edition or Research Aid), and the John Wesley Powell Prize (Historic Preservation or Historical Display).

The other two prizes, The Franklin Delano Roosevelt Award and the Ellen Trautman Award, recognize service to the profession not necessarily associated with publication, historic preservation, or public interpretive display. The most prestigious service award, The Franklin Delano Roosevelt Award, given every three years, recognizes outstanding contributions to the study of the federal government history. A recipient of this award does not need to be a society member. The Mary Ellen Trautman Award recognizes outstanding service to the Society.

Annual Prizes

General Requirements for all Six Prizes

Authors, editors, publishers, members of the Society, or others who have knowledge of the eligible works may submit entries to the chairperson or committee members listed for the specific award. Submissions should be received by November 15, but galley or other proofs of works to be published between November 15 and December 31 will be accepted with the understanding that copies of the published work will be sent to the appropriate awards chair as soon as possible, but no later than January 10. General questions on the award program or policy may be addressed to Henry J. Gwiazda, SHFG Award Committee Chair: tel. 301-837-1780; or E-mail: .

Specifics for each prize are as follows:

1) Henry Adams Prize (Book)

2) George Pendleton Prize (Book)

3) James Madison Prize (Published Article or Essay)

4) Charles Thomson Prize (Published Article or Essay)

5) Thomas Jefferson Prize (Documentary Editions and Research Tools)

6) John Wesley Powell Prize (Historic Preservation and Historical Display)

Please consult the following Web site for further information.

1. 02-21-2013 Two-day Masterclass on 'Fredegar'

2. 02-03-2010 Review Acta Universitatis Danubius. Œco...

3. 07-12-2009 Celtic Studies Association of North Ame...

4. 12-22-2006 The Heroic Age Issue 11: Baghdad, Byzan...

5. 09-23-2006 Position: Librarian III - Collection De...

6. 08-25-2006 Available:

7. 07-24-2006 The 46th annual Florida Conference of H...

8. 07-13-2006 Submissions are invited for the 2006 Hi...

9. 07-09-2006 The latest issue of the Journal of Mark...

10. 07-07-2006