Magistri et ScholaresAcademic News
and Resources
Recent Submit About Policy Site Map
Most Recent
Submit Item
Submission Policy


Scholarly Publications
Main Index


Geographic Database
Main Index


Site Map
About This Site

Great Lakes American Studies Association & Ohio University Press Book Award

Deadline: September 15, 2006

Great Lakes American Studies Association and Ohio University Press are soliciting book-length manuscripts concerning any aspect of American Studies that examines the Great Lakes region, either as a whole or in part, or one or more of the Great Lakes states. Manuscripts that are essentially creative writing, art, heavily illustrated (i.e., “coffee table” books), anthologies, or collected articles, either single- or multi-authored, will not be considered.

GLASA and Ohio University Press hope that the prize will encourage scholarship and quality book manuscripts in a wide range of disciplines that focus on the states bordering the Great Lakes, in the broad sense of the region that is sometimes called the North Coast.

The winning manuscript will be published by Ohio University Press. Proposals to be considered for the 2006 award must be received no later than September 15, 2006. The award is open to all scholars engaged in this field of research.

Proposals should include a cover letter that includes a narrative description (2-4 typescript pages) of the proposed book’s content and scope, the anticipated length of the manuscript, and an argument for the book’s importance. Why is this book needed? What will it contribute? How does it compare with other literature on the subject?

A proposal should also include:

• a table of contents;

• a sample chapter or two;

• an up-to-date copy of your curriculum vitae.

We request that you not submit your complete manuscript unless invited to do so.

Please send submissions to.

Gillian Berchowitz, Senior Editor

Ohio University Press

The Ridges, Building 19

Athens, Ohio 45701

Previous winners include: Sarah Elvins for _Sales and Celebrations: Retailing and Regional Identity in Western New York State, 1920–1940_; Sally J.

Southwick for _Building on a Borrowed Past: Place and Identity in Pipestone,

Minnesota_; and Eric D. Olmanson for _The Future City on an Inland Sea: A History of Imaginative Geographies of Lake Superior (forthcoming, December 2006).

The winner of the 2006 award will be announced in March 2007.

1. 07-18-2013 CFP: Moving Image as a Means of Documen...

2. 05-04-2010 Journal of Chain-computerisation - Info...

3. 08-20-2009 Call for Papers - International Congre...

4. 04-25-2007 CALL FOR PAPERS - Journal of the OUHS

5. 10-08-2006 New Award: ALCTS Outstanding Collaborat...

6. 09-07-2006 Life in Motion; Shifting Spaces, Transc...

7. 08-03-2006 CALL FOR PAPERS:

8. 07-13-2006 The Department of Defense, Legacy Resou...

9. 07-10-2006 For the first time in Mumbai \"Institut...

10. 07-07-2006